House Run Derby 2022: Predictions, guidelines, bracket, and TV time for MLB slugfest

The 2022 MLB All-Star Week in Los Angeles has lastly arrived, with the breathtaking backdrop of Dodger Stadium taking part in host to this 12 months’s occasions. Earlier than the 2022 MLB All-Star Sport takes place on Tuesday night time, a number of the finest sluggers within the sport will compete within the House Run Derby.

The sphere is led by Pete Alonso, the New York Mets first baseman who’s in search of his third straight House Run Derby title. Alonso is attempting to develop into the primary ever three-peat champion within the occasion. Ken Griffey Jr. is the one different participant to ever win the House Run Derby thrice when he took dwelling the crown in 1994, 1998, and 1999.

Alonso received’t have a straightforward street to a different title. His first spherical opponent is Ronald Acuna Jr., the Atlanta Braves star who Alonso defeated within the semifinals of the 2019 derby with a buzzer-beating dinger. Kyle Schwarber additionally looms on the opposite facet of the bracket. Schwarber leads the Nationwide League in dwelling runs with 26, and would be the prime seed within the area. Schwarber’s first spherical opponent is St. Louis Cardinals legend Albert Pujols. At 42 years previous, Pujols would be the oldest House Run Derby participant ever, breaking a mark Barry Bonds set at 39 years previous.

Right here’s all the pieces it’s worthwhile to know concerning the 2022 MLB House Run Derby.

House run derby bracket 2022 and matchups

Try the total bracket for the House Run Derby at Dodger Stadium.

Listed here are the matchups:

1. Kyle Schwarber, Phillies vs. 8. Albert Pujols, Cardinals
4. Juan Soto, Nationals vs. 5. José Ramírez, Guardians
3. Corey Seager, Rangers vs. 6. Julio Rodríguez, Mariners
2. Pete Alonso, Mets vs. 7. Ronald Acuña, Jr., Braves

MLB House Run Derby guidelines in 2022

The House Run Derby incorporates a head-to-head format with an eight-man bracket. The champion should win three rounds by hitting extra dwelling runs than their opponent throughout the allotted time-frame.

The primary spherical and second spherical of the derby can have three minutes on the clock. The ultimate spherical lasts for 2 minutes. Each competitor will probably be awarded 30 seconds of bonus time following every spherical. A hitter can earn an further 30 seconds of bonus time in the event that they hit a house run that measures at the least 475-feet within the regulation interval of that spherical.

As soon as a participant surpasses their matchup in dwelling runs, the clock stops and the spherical is over. Whoever hits probably the most dwelling runs in every head-to-head matchup advances till a winner is topped.

A house run counts so long as the pitch leaves the pitcher’s hand earlier than the clock expires.

Hitters have one timeout to soak up every spherical. Timeouts final for 45 seconds. Timeouts will not be permitted throughout bonus time.

MLB House Run Derby seeding, defined

Per “The seeds had been decided by the members’ 2022 dwelling run totals by play on July 13. Tiebreakers had been decided by 2021 dwelling run totals.”

House Run Derby predictions 2022

Beginning on the left facet of the bracket, I’ll take Schwarber over Pujols, and Nationals phenom Juan Soto over José Ramírez. I’ll take Soto over Schwarber to advance to the ultimate.

On the best facet of the bracket, I’ll go along with Alonso over Ronald Acuña Jr. Don’t be stunned if that’s probably the most thrilling matchup of the primary spherical. I’ll take Corey Seager, in his return to Dodger Stadium, over 21-year-old Mariners rookie Julio Rodríguez within the different matchup. Alonso will take out Seager to advance to the ultimate.

I’ll take Pete Alonso over Juan Soto within the title spherical. Alonso’s 24 dwelling runs are the second most within the area behind Schwarber, and we already know he thrives on this setting. Possibly we’re only a sucker for a cool story, however we’ll choose Alonso to three-peat.

Methods to watch 2022 House Run Derby

Date: Monday, July 18
Time: 8:00 p.m. ET
Location: Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, CA
Stream: WatchESPN

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Enable registration in settings - general
Shopping cart